Skip to content

Eve of the Fourth on the 4th

January 3, 2010

Today is the day before Dorchester announces the fourth place winner in their America’s Next Best Celler contest.  I’m nervous and excited.  Vampire Vacation is up against a straight romance story and two demon inspired paranormal romance books.  Have I read the competition?

No, I have not.  I’ve read opening chapters and book jacket copy and such… but not actually any more than that.  One writer I’m up against, published author Kerri Nelson, used to be in the Fantasy Futuristic & Paranormal chapter of RWA I was a member of (until I brought up a controversial topic and was banned from posting by the unprofessional and communication-challenged chapter president, but I digress).

Kerri’s really nice and has been terrific so far – emailing me and kind enough to include m name on the announcement posts she does regarding the Dorchester contest on the FF&P yahoo newsgroup. Wish I was a fly on the wall for some of those, but that’s okay.  I miss most of the group but a few choice members I won’t.

I haven’t really had time to get involved with another group like I was with FF&P  – besides the Guppies group (the Great Unpublished) – a 400+ chapter of Sisters In Crime.  They’ve been super supportive, but I haven’t been as active on the loops there yet. I’m afraid of pissing people off again like I did at FF&P.

I stand by my original complaint that I voiced on the newsloop – that a score of 46 out of a possible 150 points was an insult to a professional writer and whether the judge hated the style of the piece or not a chapter should not allow scores like that to be sent out to the entrants of a contest.  I have no complaints with the comments written by the judge, but I think the scoring was incredibly harsh and uncalled for.

Interesting how those same chapters that garnered a 46 have won me 1400 fans, a shot at winning the RWI contest for my category and at least a top four spot in the Dorchester contest.

Groups are hard.  They have lots of dynamics in place when you join that you’re unaware of.  Historically I don’t do well in large established groups.  I voice strong opinions, I rock the proverbial boat, I question bad decisions while offering logical solutions, in short – I get things done. Not always a crowd pleaser, that’s me.

So – I’ve done what I have often done in the past.  I create my own group.  I invite everyone I know and if they don’t like me then they probably wouldn’t have received an invite in the first place.  Life is too short for me to start apologizing to the sensitive ones who take a every comment too seriously or to put up with the ignorant ones that fill their life with hatred and prejudice – I have no tolerance for that kind of crap.

Tomorrow launches two big things – finding out if I made fourth place or I’m still in the race.  And… drum roll please…

Starting a joint blog with four other writers.  Here’s to hoping this new venture will be successful and to any writers or fans of mystery, suspense, horror, sci-fi, fantasy and erotic romance please stop by and say hello.  For some of the group it is their first time blogging and we could all use a few friendly faces there!

http://wickedwriters.com

Oh – and let me know what you think of the header image on the blog – I threw it together this weekend and my compatriots are still weighing in on it’s verdict.

Big day tomorrow!  I bet I won’t sleep tonight…

C.J.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2010 6:34 pm

    Eeek sounds nervewracking! I'm keeping my fingers crossed for you!

  2. January 3, 2010 7:22 pm

    Thanks Stephanie! I'll be sure to keep you posted. Thanks so much for stopping by the new blog too – You ROCK!

Leave a Reply

