Skip to content

Moral Dilemma

December 16, 2009

I’ve been pouring over book reviewer sites since last week. Contacting fans of the Uf genre and asking if they’d be interested in reading an ARC of V V. Most have said yes, some have said no and I’m pretty thrilled to be getting more readers excited about the book.

One very talented young woman blogs about books and she has quite a witty voice. She reveals on her blog that she’s a freshman in high school. Yikes! I wrote back and thanked her for her interest but said I could not in good conscience send her a copy of my MS to review.

Today I read an article about how popular some blogs have become that publishing houses have approached the authors to write books for them. I’m going about things a little backwards, but I thought that since I wrote a book already and was able to post seven chapters on Facebook to gain fans maybe I could do the same on a blog and gain a larger fan base.

So here it is:

http://vampirevacation.blogspot.com/

Stop by and tell your friends – I’d love to see if this will work.

It’s not quite as clear cut as things are on Fb, so I’m not sure I will succeed in this new experiment, but I figured it couldn’t hurt to try. I launched it today and now the wait begins. Will people check it out? How do they find it? I’ll have to learn more over the next week or so and let you know.

I was planning on doing the chapters there un-edited – just like I did on Facebook. I have an 18 and over restriction on the Fb page and so far I haven’t had any issues that I’m aware of with the younger Twilight set reading it. I set a mature content notification on it on Blogger and this is where the moral problem comes in.

The intelligent young freshman became a follower on the blog.

What do I do? Do I post the work as-is knowing she is reading it? Yes, I placed a warning on the page for mature content, but apparently that doesn’t mean diddly on the blogger site.

Did I read sex as a freshman? Yes, I did probably as early as seventh grade. But it wasn’t as explicit as what I’ve written and I’m really torn on how to proceed. My own daughter is nine and there is no way in HELL she would be allowed to read a book like mine in ninth grade.

How do you stop your kids from reading what they shouldn’t? You stay involved and you monitor- there is no other way. I can’t stop a child from buying my book in the store but it is up to their parents to monitor what they buy and bring home.

Should I monitor what I post because of the age of this one fan? Really this is not about her, she just opened my eyes to the fact that since she can get to my blog that means other underage kids can too. I guess I have my answer. I won’t be able to post the stuff there unless I can get an eighteen and over lock on it. And that probably means I won’t be able to get the following like I did on Fb – let’s face it, sex sells.

Damn. Sometimes having morals sucks.

C.J.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2009 10:13 pm

    Its so great that you care about exposing younger kids to explicit content. I hope the blog world gets tons of adult readers interested in your book I like what I've read.

  2. December 17, 2009 9:28 am

    Thanks Caitlin! Glad to hear you like what you've read so far. I am super bummed about the blog being open to underage bloggers so I have to do some research and figure out if there is a way to fix it.

Leave a Reply

