Skip to content

The BEST Rejection Letter yet

December 7, 2009

I don’t know if I can call this letter a true rejection letter, you’ll understand when you read it. Bottom line is I still have no one that wants to buy it yet, but the COO of this publisher reached out to me specifically when she saw my work online on authonomy.com and I’m thrilled with her letter to me.

She made me feel great! She took the time to write some really nice encouraging words to me and considering she’s a very busy woman, she certainly didn’t have to. I’m not worried she ultimately passed on V V as it stands. She gave me hope and that’s more valuable than most people realize.
Here’s her letter, but I’ve cut out some info to protect her privacy (I worried it would be rude and/or illegal if I hadn’t asked first to leave her name and the company name in).

Hi C.J.:

Sorry I didn’t get back to you last week. I really enjoyed reading Vampire Vacation! {side note – she read it in less than a week!!} Our Editor in Chief, XXXXXX, said she also read the first three chapters in a contest she judged and that it was her top pick in the category. Not sure what contest that was.

V V is a very strong book with excellent writing, character and plot development. It definitely stands out. I would not be surprised if it is accepted by any number of publishers. I would offer you a contract immediately for XXXXXXXX, our mainstream imprint, but we are filled up for 2010 and beyond, and I wouldn’t want to tie up such a strong book for that long.

For XXXXXX, {a different imprint, an ebook only line} it would need to have the sexual content beefed up quite a bit. That would not mean a large rewrite, just some additional writing to expand existing sex scenes and maybe add a few more. If you’re interested in doing that, let me know, and I’ll work with you on it.

If you prefer to try your luck elsewhere, I completely understand and wish you the best of luck with it. Do feel free to send me any other stuff you write that you think might work for us.

Warmly,
XXXXXX

Wow! I was so floored when I read that last line that my mind started whirring on the possibilities of writing an erotica line. Wouldn’t that be a blast? The sex scenes always do fly off the page with me!

Maybe early recollections of Vivian before Rafe? Or a whole nother angle? Hmm… something to ponder…

Hands down, best rejection letter ever!

C.J.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2009 6:48 pm

    Yahoooo!! I'd definitely resubmit with beefed up sex scenes (especially if they're easy for you. For me, i can't stand writing them!). Awesome job, CJ! That is definitely a keeper and a door open in a tough market!

  2. December 7, 2009 7:44 pm

    Thanks Nicole! I'm actually okay with not beefing up V V yet, I like it the way it is and think it will appeal to a larger audience if I don't add more sex (my parents are already shocked as it is!). BUT I will keep it in mind and contemplate where those sex scenes could be added. Never close a door, right?I was thinking of doing an early story before the happily married couple met – or maybe a completely different line altogether.And don't worry, you're not alone. A lot of writers hate writing the sex scenes. One crit group I was a part of I was the best sex scene proof reader around – either the other writers were to shy to speak up when the scene didn't mesh or perhaps they didn't know how to fix it. But sex? Bring it on! I can write that!

Leave a Reply

