Skip to content

Once Again – Avoiding work – This time with book reviews!

September 24, 2009

I don’t feel like working today. I’m sure we all have days like that. I need to go to Costco for the big Rocktoberfest neighborhood party this weekend and then go for my MRI. Oh Boy. I’m sure they won’t have answers for me today, of course, it will be next week or something, so to keep my mind off of it and ignore the fact that I can’t stand to do any of my own work – I’m going to review some books I’ve read recently.

Before I started writing my own book, I read two to three books a week. During various times while creating Vampire Vacation I would take a break and read other books or work for weeks without. Lately, in my desire to forget my own cares I’ve started numerous books and finished less in the last few weeks.

Any Given Doomsday by Lori Handeland
I’m not sure how I have missed this author before. She has written a bunch of books and certainly has a lot of talent. I enjoyed this book. At times I felt the action was predictable, but I enjoyed it nonetheless.
The story unfolds of an ex-cop poised on the brink of change. Her psychic abilities that made her such a good cop, but still unacceptable by her peers high standards, will lead her transformation into a world of good and evil she never new existed before.
Her characters were flawed and experience growth like they should by the end. Even though this book is listed as an Urban Fantasy it had strong romantic elements in it. That part made me want to smack the characters sometimes, but I’m sure that was the author’s intent.
Overall I’d give it a B/B-. Will I go out and buy the next book? I’m not sure yet. I wasn’t attached to the heroine and hero by the end and the jury is still out on if I feel like continuing on.
Destined for an Early Grave by Jeaniene Frost
Let me say first that I have loved this series from the very start. I was so excited when I left my two hour glucose test to stop in the bookstore for a pick me up and found this book. I’ve been bad about getting my favorite author’s books shipped to me from Amazon with my hectic work schedule, so it was an unexpected treat.
This book was good and I flew through it. My only complaint is this – why is it that no one feels comfortable writing an excellent story without there being constant conflict between the hero and heroine?
Bones and Cat go through an adventure that introduces a new story arc and new characters. The stage is set for Cat’s transformation in the next book to take center stage, but I won’t go into detail and ruin it. I just had issues with the whole ‘old boyfriend come back to ruin their happiness’ slant.
In real life a relationship cannot take repeated HUGE amounts of conflict without it ending in divorce. That’s just a fact – one our nations 50% divorce rate can attest to. Some conflict is good – and yes real, but constant gets to me. With four books of relationship issues I really hope the next book graduates beyond that because I love her writing.
I love the characters Ms.Frost has created and I will buy her next book (just like I have her first three) but I would really like to see the focus in the books shift to the story and/or problem the couple must face rather than the primary conflict being between the two people who are supposed to be dedicated to each other already.
I give it a B+ for that reason and that reason alone. Her writing is excellent and I was transported into the story, but I was frustrated by my issues stated above.
I’ve got more reviews, but I think I’ll save them for tomorrow, while I’m putting off thinking of the next doctor visit.
Anyone looking for a good ebook read, please check out this author:
I’m looking forward to reading her unique take on vampires in Germany during World War II. With a concept like that, what’s not to love?
C.J.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Nicole_Hadaway permalink
    September 24, 2009 8:27 pm

    Thanks, CJ!

Leave a Reply

