Skip to content

Need some diet buddies – who’s with me?

August 14, 2009

My husband and I are going to visit Asa in Italy this October. We’re going for about 6 days and I’m psyched as all hell. Reality smacks me in the face when I think about, what for me, is the trip of a lifetime.

My kids are going to be taken care of by family and friends and we’re going alone. Alone. Wow. So huge.
I’m not going to dwell on the fact that I can’t eat any pasta or bread or WINE when I’m there. There is much more to Italy than that and I’m grateful to go.
My high school 20th reunion was last Fall. I was the fattest I’ve been since being pregnant – weighing in at 156 lbs. I was distraught when I saw the pictures. Who was that matronly-looking pudgeball with massive cleavage?
Yes, it was due in large part to my health concerns, but I was not eating healthy or exercising. I tried to lose weight when I got home but got caught up in the rounds of endoscopies, floroscopies, video capsules tests and then months of allergy tests – so suffice it to say, my weight loss program had many excuses to fail.
Now that I know my allergy issues, I really have no excuses. I did manage to slim down a bit this spring, to 152 pounds. I had got as low as 146, but the weight keep going back and forth like a see-saw making me more disgusted.
We visited with some family in DC on Tuesday and Pete’s aunt looked great. She’d lost over 30 pounds. She cut out alcohol and all the late night snacking that brought on, plus started doing a protein shake with fruit for lunch. She inspired me.
I know weight loss is a long hard road and most of us are always looking for the quick fix. I’ve been unhealthy for years and it’s got to stop. My recent back pain was enough for me to see that. The picture I have posted my facebook profile and fan page was only 2 1/2 years ago and I weighed 135 – I know I can get back there. And honestly, the doctor told me when I weighed 145 18 mos ago, that I needed to drop 20 lbs to avoid becoming diabetic (I’m boderline now).
And dammit, before I have a publishing party I want to be thinner. One fan suggested I dress up like a vampire for book signings – which would be fun as hell, but not going to happen if I’m weighing 150!
My real issue is with keeping it off. I get lazy and eat whatever I want and then the weight creeps back on. It’s been a vicious cycle the last ten years, but one compounded by my allergies (and the severe bloating that accompanied eating the offense food) and I didn’t even know it.
I’m doing a shout out for some diet buddies. Who wants to start a diet blog and report their NEW changes in their life? You only have to report every few days and we’ll all promise to support each other’s efforts by leaving some encouraging comments twice a week.
Here’s my plan – to eat only: fruits, vegetables, meats, yogurt, popcorn and no alcohol. Yes, no alcohol. That is going to the kicker I think.
I really, really hate to exercise. I often joke with my friends that the only time I like to be sweaty is when I’m naked with Pete, and that’s the god’s honest truth. BUT – I enjoy yoga more than any other ‘sport’ and walking certainly will be good for my back.
So I commit to walking everyday, unless it’s raining, and will go back to yoga once my back is healed.
I started on Wednesday with no alcohol and that morning I weighed 149.5. Today I weighed in at 148. I’ll post my results every Friday and you can choose to do whatever you want – no pressure.
Get your husband involved too – they are great for support, and if you need to lose then chances are that they do too. Encourage them with my ‘naked at nine’ plan. I’ll tell you more about it if you become a diet buddy with me. šŸ˜‰
One Comment leave one →
  1. RowenaBCherry permalink
    August 19, 2009 11:05 am

    Kudos on your immediate results, CJ. I'm trying the grapefruit diet, and blogging about it on weightlossbloggers.yahoogroups.com

    Would love some company over there, too.

    Best wishes,
    Rowena

Leave a Reply

