Skip to content

Back problems – not fun

August 5, 2009

As I lay here, with my computer propped up on pillows, I begin to contemplate where I went wrong. Has it been my lack of exercise? Has it been my hours and hours pouring over my laptop trying to crit, improve my book, solicit agents, and learn as much as I can about marketing myself?

In the big rush to sell my book have I once again ignored me? Or was it the concert on Saturday night to see Paul McCartney? I admit, I’m out of shape. I admit to party-ing my butt off rocking to old Beatles music, Wings and new McCartney tunes. Could that be the reason?

I do know that the excruciating pain has caused me to cancel a family trip to NJ to visit relatives and will drag myself to the doctor’s today. Seriously, what can they do that I’m not already doing? Walk every hour; check. Stretch often; check. Lay on your back with pillows under your knees; check. Eat well, drink water and take over the counter pills for pain; check.

I’ve taken three prescription pain pills (left over from surgery in ’06 and no, you don’t want to know what for) in the last four days when the pain became unbearable, so I know I’m not ‘abusing’ them by a long shot. I’m 38 and I’m walking like some hunched back 80-year-old arthritic suffer.

Oh – on a funny note – my husband laughed at me and said I looked like an old woman. I got him back (have I mentioned I’m a bitch?). I waited until I was not burning in anger and gave him a fast smack-tap to his privates while he was still laughing at me hunched in pain. He stopped laughing real quick, got all serious and said “That wasn’t funny, I got a little nauseous.” I smiled. Seemed funny to me.

So that I don’t get bummed out by what I haven’t accomplished this week I’m going to focus on the positives:

– wrote a three part article for the FF&P member blog on how I have come so far in such a short span of time. I’m not sure if it was well received or not b/c my fellow writers are a quiet bunch. – have almost trained my barking dog to stop his incessant yard barking (with very little zapping going on).
– successfully posted an advertisement w/pictures for our pop-camper and just sold it (hurray! now we can get a bigger one with an actual bedroom door!!).
– critiqued 11 chapters of my writing buddy’s novel – and I swear the pain killers didn’t make me go easy on her, she can attest to that.

Okay, so it hasn’t been a wasted week. My house is a mess, laundry is stacking up and I can barely stand. I need to get a highly polished version of my work out to an agent that requested it in paper via snail mail and I’m busting a gut to get it to her tomorrow.

Life is certainly hectic right now to say the least! Would I have it any other way? No, but I’d opt for no back pain right now that’s for damn sure ; )

2 Comments leave one →
  1. mynfel permalink
    August 7, 2009 1:21 am

    Awwww…I've got massive back issues too, atm. Sucks, eh? Probably gonna get stuck having surgery soon. 😦

  2. C.J. Ellisson permalink
    August 7, 2009 12:57 pm

    So sorry about the surgery! I said on Wednesday I was going to go to the doc's but I didn't go. Today I'm going no matter what.

    I constantly live the 'wait and see' approach. Trying way to hard to see if the problem goes away on it's own.

    Good luck with the surgery – I wish you the best!

Leave a Reply

