Skip to content

Back to Work! Wah-peesh! crack that whip!

July 30, 2009

Spending mucho time on my synopsis the past five days has helped me to re-do my query letter as well. Can’t post the synop on here b/c it would give away the ending and most of my reviewers on FB don’t want that!

So here’s the agent query I’ve been tweaking all day. Share your thoughts or suggestions, I’m always up for help.

Dear XXX,

I’m writing you seeking representation for my 90,000 word erotic urban fantasy Vampire Vacation, which four editors requested in full at the recent Romance Writers of America National convention.

What do you get when you combine a 580-year-old vampire, her human husband, and a resort for the undead? A sexually charged, sardonic relationship between a married couple and a never ending cast of unique characters.

Meet Vivian, the supernatural equivalent of Mr. Roarke on Fantasy Island, who projects illusions to create the perfect vacation spot for vampires in Alaska. Upon a check of the guest rooms, Vivian stumbles across a murdered body, one that is neither an employee nor a guest. She and her husband, Rafe, hide the corpse, convinced they can track down the killer without alerting their customers.

When orchestrating the sexual escapades of some guests and questioning others proves to be too much for her, Vivian listens to Rafe’s advice. For the first time in hundreds of years, she agrees to involve and trust an outsider for assistance. It’s a difficult step for Vivian, who knows in the end she may wind up having to kill to keep her secrets safe.

I’m contacting you because your agency represents XXXX, whose novel I enjoyed. I’ve researched you online and have stopped by your XXXX site, OR your blog, OR read your interview on XXXXXX and would be honored to have you represent me.

This spring, I won a flash fiction writing contest for a horror entry, received third place in an erotica contest, and recently placed second for my rough draft of chapter one of Vampire Vacation in the RWA Dixie First sponsored contest. I’m a member of RWA, Sisters In Crime and several sub-chapters of these associations. My work already has a fan base of 1,000 on Facebook. Please stop by and see what some of the reviewers from my private reading group have to say about my novel: http://www.facebook.com/c.j.ellissonfanpage

Thank you so much for taking the time to read my query,

C.J. Ellisson
XXX-XXX-XXXX
cj_ellisson@yahoo.com

3 Comments leave one →
  1. quixotic permalink
    July 30, 2009 8:51 pm

    I'm no good at grading queries, however there are some great places around here in blogger land that are.

    http://queryshark.blogspot.com/

    http://openquery.blogspot.com/

    Give them a try.

  2. C.J. Ellisson permalink
    July 30, 2009 9:21 pm

    Blogger C.J. Ellisson said…

    Thanks! I did try the first one today – I'll try the other one next.

  3. Louise permalink
    August 4, 2009 10:12 am

    You don't know it, but you've helped me with my query letter!!
    Oh, the web is such a wonderful thing.

    Good luck.

Leave a Reply

