Skip to content

April 18,2009

April 18, 2009

I’m sitting in my sunny peaceful backyard with my laptop on a tiny cafe table. The sound of joyous, and sometimes annoying, children’s voices serenade me as I type. I’ve posted my third chapter to my Facebook fan page and I’m nervous as hell.

My own father told me he blushed after the first two chapters. All I could think of was “well, better not send him three and four.” His next bit of advice was to change the entire thing to past tense and then he gave me some other author’s names he admired and sited their work.

Ces la vie, I didn’t expect them to get it, and frankly, I almost didn’t tell them what I was writing. I’m not ashamed of my work, but I do not feel comfortable having my parents read all the sexy saucy bits and then looking them in the eye. Of course, they have had sex, I’m here aren’t I?

It is hard to explain the uncomfortableness one feels when exposing their work for review. Add to that the sex scenes and it’s your parents reading it and well, damn, don’t think about sleeping again because the awkwardness will haunt you when your eyes close.

I’ve been doing lots of research on independent publishing, how much a best selling author can make when they go with a big publishing house, the ins and outs of self publishing and epublishing. Good god, it’s enough to make your head hurt.

What will I do? Which route will I choose? Not sure yet. But I do know I didn’t spend years being a successful sales person sitting on my butt waiting for the answers to come to me. More research and lots more contemplation will be needed for this one – but not today.

Today is gorgeous and sunny and I’m going to rest and relax. Oh – and pray that my third chapter gets a good review from readers.

C.J.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tre permalink
    April 20, 2009 12:24 am

    Ha.. parents don’t have sex, you appear miraculously though no act of theirs ;). C’mon… get the story straight.

  2. C.J. Ellisson permalink
    April 20, 2009 12:53 pm

    Hehehe

Leave a Reply

